Taranpreet was referred to POhWER for Care Act advocacy support. Taranpreet has learning disabilities and was living with her mother. Taranpreet’s mother has declining health and a number of support needs and is no longer able to support Taranpreet. 

Both Taranpreet and her mother received support from a Personal Assistant (PA) employed through Direct Payments but the PA was moving away and unable to continue to provide support. A review of Taranpreet's care and support package was needed to identify how she could best be supported due to these changed circumstances. 

Annie, a POhWER advocate, arranged to meet Taranpreet at her home. English is Taranpreet’s second language and although she is able to communicate verbally in English using one word answers or short sentences, her understanding can be limited at times due to her learning disabilities. Punjabi is Taranpreet’s first language and therefore Annie arranged for an interpreter to be present at meetings to support with communication. 

When Annie met with Taranpreet she asked where she wanted to live. Taranpreet said she wanted to continue living with her mother. Taranpreet was unable to understand that due to her mother's health conditions and advancing years she was no longer able to continue supporting Taranpreet as she had in the past. Annie asked Taranpreet what she thought about moving to live somewhere else if they could not stay in their current home. Taranpreet said that would be ok as long as she was with her mother.

Taranpreet's mother told Annie that she didn't want to move anywhere without her daughter. 

Annie ensured the social worker was aware of Taranpreet's wishes. Annie also highlighted information she had gathered about how Taranpreet was affected when her mother was recently admitted to hospital, as Taranpreet had became very upset and panicky. Annie asked for this to be fully taken into account when making any decision regarding how Taranpreet and her mothers' care would be provided going forward.

The option of Taranpreet and her mother remaining in their property with a new PA in place was explored in depth by both Taranpreet’s and her mothers' social worker but it was deemed neither of their needs could be met in between care calls or overnight. 

An Independent Mental Capacity Advocate (IMCA) was not needed for the Change of Accommodation best interest’s decision as a family member was deemed appropriate to consult. 

Although Taranpreet and her mother had different care needs, their social workers worked collaboratively and were able to identify a residential placement that would accept them both. They moved to the same room initially with a view to gradually moving them to separate rooms over time. 

Annie ensured Taranpreet's wishes were fully taken into account and highlighted the significant impact any move away from her mother would have on Taranpreet's emotional and mental wellbeing. Her rights under Article 8 of the Human Rights Act were protected as Taranpreet was supported to move to a residential placement with her mother in line with both of their wishes, protecting their right to family life.